Executive Council

Chair, Ellen M. Simon - Tallahassee, FL | Welcome Message

Ellen Simon serves as the Assistant Director of the Division of Funeral, Cemetery and Consumer Services, Department of Financial Services.  She has been with the Department of Financial Services since 2007. Ellen grew up in South Florida, graduated from the Shepard Broad Law Center at Nova Southeastern University, and began her legal career at the State Attorney’s Office in the Twentieth Judicial Circuit (Collier County). Ellen ended her tenure there prosecuting cases in the felony division.  She moved to Tallahassee in 2003 where she served as an Assistant General Counsel with the Department of Health. During her time at the Department of Health, Ellen presented disciplinary cases to a variety of healthcare practitioner boards, including the Board of Medicine, the Board of Nursing, the Board of Dentistry, and the Board of Social Work.  Ellen was also an adjunct professor at Barry University for a number of years and has been a Certified Mediator since 2003.

Additionally, Ellen has volunteered her time in the Guardian Ad Litem program, Teen Court, and is the past president of the Florida Government Bar Association.  Ellen is currently the president of Congregation Shomrei Torah.

Ellen has previously served on the Criminal Procedure Rules Committee as well as the Juvenile Court Rules Committee of the Florida Bar. She has been on the Executive Council for the Government Lawyer Section since 2010.

Past Chairs of the GLS »

Section Reimbursement Form »  


Robert C. Downie - Tallahassee, FL


Francine M. Ffolkes - Tallahassee, FL


Michael Schmid - Tampa, FL


William H. Davis


Barbara C. Wingo - Gainesville, FL



Jason Nelson

Deborah Fraim

Jose Arrojo

Steve Klinger

Lee Ann Freeman

Michelle Buckalew


Diana Bock

Pamela Cichon

Bruce Culpepper

Patrick "Booter" Imhof

Anthony Miller

Judge Lynne Quimby-Pennock

Linje Rivers

Morgan R. Rood

Jacek Stramski

Judge John Van Laningham


Robert C. Downie -
Budget Chair

Patrick "Booter" Imhof -
Bylaws Chair

Francine M. Ffolkes -
Certification Chair

Keith William Rizzardi -
Claude Pepper Award Chair

Anthony Musto -
Awards & Recognitions

Timothy E. Dennis -
CLE Chair

Stephanie Morse -

Judge Lynne Quimby-Pennock -
Long Range Planning

Mary Ellen Clark-
Membership Chair

Dwight Oneal Slater -
Publications Chair

Dustin Metz -
Technology Chair

Michael Schmid-
Young Gov. Lawyer Chair