top of page

Awards Program



The Claude Pepper Award is presented to government lawyers typically with at least 10 years of service, whose character and accomplishments exemplify the highest ideals of government service.


Recipients are well-rounded lawyers, whose importance to their agency or employer is irrefutable. This award looks for more than just a single even if remarkable event, seeking out lawyers demonstrating annual contributions over time and commitment to public service and the public interest. The recipient is determined by a consensus of the president of The Florida Bar, the chair of the GLS and the chair of the Claude Pepper Award Committee of the GLS.

Claude Pepper Award

Past Recipients

  • 2012 -  Michael J. Alderman

  • 2011 -  Stephanie Daniel

  • 2010 - John S. Slye

  • 2009 - Gerald B. Curington

  • 2008 - Patricia R. Gleason

  • 2007 - Judson M. Chapman

  • 2006 - W. Anthony Loe

  • 2005 - Jack Shreve

  • 2004 - Sheryl Wood

  • 2003 - William B. Hammill

  • 2002 - Denise M. Nieman

  • 2001 - Deborah K. Kearney

  • 2000 - George Lee Waas

  • 1999 - James A. Peters

  • 1998 - Jorge L. Fernandez

  • 1997 - George B. Barrs

  • 1996 - Anthony C. Musto

  • 1995 - Joseph Lewis, Jr.

  • 1994 - Irene M. Quincey

  • 993 - Enoch “Jon” Whitney

  • 1992 - John J. Copelan, Jr.

  • 1991 - Chriss Walker


The Lifetime Achievement Award is the Government Lawyer Section’s highest honor for long-term public servants, and is presented only when the section deems it appropriate – not necessarily annually, and no more than once each year.

Past Recipients

Lifetime Achievement
Distinguished Public Service

Tina Furlow received the 2016 Distinguished Public Service Award.


The Distinguished Public Service Award, presented at the midyear meeting each January, recognizes dedicated government lawyers typically with at least 5 years of public service whose recent contributions to the profession and the community deserve special recognition.


At least one and no more than six lawyers may be recognized.  As with all other awards, evaluation criteria will include: government position attained, tenure, accomplishments and impact over time; recognition by fellow professionals, media, and the general public; and participation in other professional and community organizations and activities.


All persons nominated for the Claude Pepper Award are automatically considered for the Distinguished Public Service Award, although nominators may supplement the application.

Past Recipients

2016 - Tina Furlow

Doug MacLaughlin

2007 - Geri Atkinson-Hazelton

2007 - Norman A. Blessing

2007 - John D. Maher

2007 - Robert Whaley


If provided for in the annual budget, the Awards Committee may, on an annual basis, award one scholarship to a student of an ABA-accredited law school with a demonstrated interest in government service in Florida and a stated need for financial assistance.

Law Student Scholarship Award
bottom of page